Sunday, July 14, 2019



The Rib that Got Away

Yes, Adam was asleep
when God lifted his rib
to make him a helpmate
Well, she helped herself
to everything in the Garden,
had a meaningful
conversation with a snake
then limbed it out of there

She said everything she needed to know
she learned from a snake

©2015

Monday, July 8, 2019

Fascination



A comb
A spritz
A lipstick

O tangled hair
small of back
length of leg

It all comes back
to a comb, a spritz, a lipstick


©2007

Saturday, June 15, 2019

The guitarist that night

Just thinking about the guitarist that night,
who can sing of love
in the most contorted fashion
until the word has lost all loveliness,

Thursday, May 30, 2019

A Ripple

Much as a still body of water,
when a trifling breeze comes up,
feels a ripple start across the pond
searching for the consummation

Monday, May 20, 2019

Saturn Devouring His Children

In a drawing by Goya never held any horror
for me, devouring as any father,
trying to get the Madonna alone and all
the Madonna ever wanted was the kid

Sunday, May 12, 2019

To a spider this morning

You seem sure-footed enough
as long as you stay
in your web, filaments so thin
I can't see the spokes

Tuesday, May 7, 2019

Union Cemetery

There's frost laying across their beds
this morning, like it did
when we were kids in Vermont
No central heat, they slept us

Sunday, April 21, 2019

In "Michigan" Woods



I’d never trade the roaring brook
that bordered our front yard
for anything.  My brother took
his Blazer up the road.

Wednesday, March 27, 2019

Angels

Angels appeared in my poems
long before they became
as common as lapel pins.  Once

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

A Psalm for Lent

Write a Psalm?  Me?

I feel so far from anything throne-like
Apostasy is my refuge,
Ego, my strength.

The Rib that Got Away Yes, Adam was asleep when God lifted his rib to make him a helpmate Well, she helped herself to every...